We are a privately owned grammar school in the Berlin district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf. The middle school level (secondary level I) comprises grades 7 to 10 and the upper level level (upper secondary level) comprises grades 11 and 12.

At our grammar school, there is a special focus on an international orientation as well as the MINT and art perspective. We see this school program as an opportunity to prepare young people for the demands and challenges of an ever-increasing complexity in society and for a globalized world.

Climate change, energy and resource efficiency, health or demographic change - these and many other issues can be researched and solved by MINT. We are convinced that the great problems of the 21st century require a sound scientific education for adolescents more than ever. An education that enables students at our grammar school to recognize, understand, explain and critically evaluate scientific phenomena and technical problems in everyday life and to draw conclusions for their own actions.

The integration of the visual arts into the MINT areas motivates students to get involved in MINT-related activities. The integration of the arts enables STEM concepts to be presented in an innovative and visual way, to express one's own thoughts on the world through music and dance, to illustrate ideas through drawings, the production of models or graphics, or to communicate with others in a descriptive language.

STEM and art

Change processes shape our society. Anyone who wants to actively shape social change must know what it is about. We are convinced that a prerequisite for this is a basic understanding of scientific and technical interrelationships and an awareness of the great importance of MINT topics.

The STEM subjects of mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology and computer science are accordingly an integral part of the timetable at our grammar school and are taught in more depth in the profile lessons. We attach great importance to a diverse range of natural sciences in interdisciplinary lessons, in our extracurricular activities and in the whole day.

In modernly equipped specialist rooms, we strengthen the experimental and independent work of our students. In this way, we not only encourage interest and enjoyment in the MINT subjects, but also the approach to mathematical and scientific phenomena and questions.

Mathematics forms the basis for most STEM subjects. Because every new idea must first be calculated based on whether and how it works. The content of mathematics is therefore linked with content from the fields of computer science, biology, chemistry, physics and technology.

Education based on STEM and art aims to address problems with innovation, creative and critical thinking, cooperation and effective communication. So the visual arts are subjective, intuitive, unique and emotive, while the STEM areas are objective, repeatable, logical and analytical. Fine arts and natural sciences are therefore two areas of education that complement each other.

Girls and STEM

The choice of occupation is socio-culturally influenced, that is, by role models and cultural ideas of “typically male” and “typically female” occupations. This deeply rooted idea often discourages young women from MINT professions, especially since many are not aware of the opportunities the various professions offer. In order to attract more girls and women to STEM, we would like to contribute to changing social framework conditions.

The MINT and art perspective at our grammar school should contribute to structurally breaking up solidified, traditional role models and gender-specific attributions of professions and activities.

The timetable is supplemented by our focus areas:

  • Additional MINT and art offers as part of the full day
  • Study time for mathematics and natural sciences
  • Interdisciplinary and cross-class project days - focus on STEM and art
  • IT education is an integral part of MINT funding

Participation in the following school competitions in the natural sciences.

  • International Biology Olympiad (IBO)
  • Youth research
  • Mathematics Olympiad
  • Kangaroo of math
  • Informatik-Biber: Informatik for everyone

International orientation

The internationalization of the education and labor market requires the development of intercultural skills as a key qualification. The approach of intercultural education is to appreciate the diversity of cultures and to recognize the differences in languages, traditions and religions. In a globalized world, intercultural skills are becoming increasingly important.

Through study trips abroad and the partnership with the BAU Global Network, we support the idea of ​​international understanding, the goal of a common Europe and coexistence with people and nations from other cultures.

Intercultural education emphasizes the unity and interdependence of human society, the development of self-confidence and the appreciation of cultural diversity, the affirmation of social justice and human rights as well as inspiring actions for peace and partnership for a sustainable future around the world.

International student exchanges fulfill important aspects of our educational mission. It makes a significant contribution to the development of young people in various areas such as personal development or the development of intercultural competence.

The unique cooperation with the mit BAU Global network enables students at our grammar school to gain international teaching experience abroad, which prepares them for their further education in a globalized world of work. This international exchange offers pupils the freedom to develop their own ideas and bring them into the social debate. Often, formative stays abroad during the educational path also lead to a commitment to the benefit of the general public.

Learning experiences through cross-border mobility therefore create the basis for young girls and boys to be able to move around in Europe and around the world. They also open up professional and personal perspectives. Mobility is therefore part of social participation and a basic right for all young people. The interest in other people in your own environment grows and enriches the international network through an expanded circle of friends.

Last but not least, the foundations for political stability and the economic success of our country in an increasingly globalized world are laid by a young generation that is open to the world, with a high level of intercultural competence and an understanding of other ways of life.

School partnership project Fulbord Academy in Canada

With us, students in lower and upper secondary levels can expand their English and intercultural skills during a study trip to the Fulford Academy in Canada, a partner school of the BAU Global Network. In doing so, they come into contact with the local culture and exchange ideas intensively with their foreign classmates, e.g. B. about their deeply felt perceptions, beliefs and values ​​that influence their way of life and the way they see the world.

English

Due to its function as a lingua franca, ie as an international lingua franca in business, culture, politics, for further studies and international science as well as for communication and peace projects throughout the world, the English language is of great importance.

In the English profile course, we prepare our students for this and promote their language skills through a variety of forms of work, materials and methods.

For the international orientation branch, the timetable is supplemented by these focal points:

  • School partnership projects in the 9th grade or 12th grade (duration: up to 2 weeks)
  • Cross-subject and cross-class project days - focus on English and intercultural education
  • Additional offers in English as part of the full day
  • Study time for the subject English

Wir sind ein Gymnasium in freier Trägerschaft im Berliner Bezirk Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf. Die gymnasiale Mittelstufe (Sekundarstufe I) umfasst  die Jahrgänge 7 bis 10 und die gymnasiale Oberstufe (Sekundarstufe II) umfasst die Jahrgänge 11 und 12.

An unserem Gymnasium stehen eine internationale Orientierung sowie die MINT und Kunst Perspektive im besonderen Fokus. Wir sehen in diesem Schulprogramm die Chance, junge Menschen auf die Anforderungen und Herausforderungen einer stets wachsenden Vielschichtigkeit in der Gesellschaft und auf eine globalisierte Welt vorzubereiten.

Klimawandel, Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz, Gesundheit oder demographischer Wandel – diese und viele weitere Sachverhalte können durch MINT erforscht und gelöst werden. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass die großen Probleme des 21. Jahrhunderts, mehr denn je eine fundierte naturwissenschaftliche Bildung von Heranwachsenden erfordern. Eine Bildung, die an unserem Gymnasium Schüler*innen ermöglicht, naturwissenschaftliche Phänomene und technische Probleme im Alltag zu erkennen, zu verstehen, zu erklären, kritisch zu bewerten und daraus auch Schlussfolgerungen für das eigene Handeln zu ziehen.

Die Integration der bildenden Künste in die MINT-Bereiche motiviert Schüler*innen, sich in MINT bezogenen Aktivitäten zu engagieren. Die Integration der Künste ermöglicht MINT-Konzepte auf innovative und bildliche Weise darzustellen, eigenen Gedanken zur Welt über Musik und Tanz zum Ausdruck zu bringen, Vorstellungen über Zeichnungen, Anfertigung von Modellen oder Grafiken zu illustrieren oder mit anderen in einer deskriptiven Sprache darüber zu kommunizieren.

MINT und Kunst

Veränderungsprozesse prägen unsere Gesellschaft. Wer gesellschaftlichen Wandel aktiv gestalten will, muss wissen, worum es geht. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass eine Voraussetzung dafür, ein Grundverständnis von naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Zusammenhängen und das Bewusstsein für die hohe Bedeutung von MINT-Themen ist.

Die MINT-Fächer Mathematik, Physik, Chemie, Biologie und Informatik sind dementsprechend fester Bestandteil der Stundentafel unseres Gymnasiums und werden in den Profilstunden vertieft unterrichtet. Wir legen großen Wert auf ein vielfältiges naturwissenschaftliches Angebot im fächerübergreifenden Unterricht, in unseren außerschulischen Angeboten und im Ganztag.

In modern ausgestatteten Fachräumen stärken wir das experimentelle und eigenständige Arbeiten unserer Schüler*innen. Dadurch fördern wir nicht nur das Interesse und die Freude an den MINT-Fächern, sondern auch die Herangehensweise an mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliche Phänomene und Fragestellungen.

Mathematik bildet die Grundlage für die meisten MINT-Fächer. Denn jede neue Idee muss erstmal darauf berechnet werden, ob und wie sie funktioniert. Die Inhalte der Mathematik werden demzufolge mit Inhalten aus den Bereichen Informatik, Biologie, Chemie, Physik, Technik verknüpft.

MINT und Kunst begründete Bildung zielt darauf ab, Problemen mit Innovation, kreativem und kritischem Denken, Kooperation und effektiver Kommunikation zu begegnen. So sind die bildenden Künste subjektiv, intuitiv, einzigartig und gefühlsbezogen, während die MINT-Bereiche objektiv, wiederholbar, logisch und analytisch sind. Bildende Künste und Naturwissenschaften sind daher zwei Bildungsbereiche, die sich gegenseitig ergänzen.

Mädchen und MINT

Die Berufswahl ist soziokulturell beeinflusst, also von Rollenbildern und kulturellen Vorstellungen von „typisch männlichen“ und „typisch weiblichen“ Berufen. Diese tiefverwurzelte Idee Vorstellung, hält junge Frauen vielfach von MINT-Berufen ab, zumal vielen nicht bewusst ist, welche Möglichkeiten die verschiedenen Berufe bieten. Um mehr Mädchen und Frauen für MINT zu gewinnen, möchten wir dazu beitragen, dass sich gesellschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen verändern.

Die MINT und Kunst Perspektive an unserem Gymnasium sollen dazu beitragen, verfestigte, traditionelle Rollenbilder und geschlechtsspezifische Zuschreibungen von Berufen und Tätigkeiten strukturell aufzubrechen.

Die Stundentafel wird durch unsere Schwerpunkte ergänzt:

  • Zusätzliche MINT und Kunst Angebote im Rahmen des Ganztages
  • Studierzeit für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften
  • Fächer- und Klassenübergreifende Projekttage – Schwerpunkte MINT und Kunst
  • Die informatische Bildung ist fester Bestandteil der MINT-Förderung

Teilnahme an folgenden Schulwettbewerben in den naturwissenschaftlichen Fachrichtungen.

  • Internationale Biologie Olympiade (IBO)
  • Jugend forscht
  • Mathematik-Olympiade
  • Känguru der Mathematik
  • Informatik-Biber: Informatik für alle

Internationale Orientierung

Die Internationalisierung des Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarktes setzt die Entwicklung interkultureller Handlungsfähigkeit als Schlüsselqualifikation voraus. Der Ansatz der interkulturellen Bildung lautet, die Vielfalt der Kulturen wertzuschätzen und die Differenzen in Sprachen, Traditionen und Religionen anzuerkennen. In einer globalisierten Welt werden interkulturelle Kompetenzen immer wichtiger.

Durch Studienfahrten ins Ausland und der Partnerschaft mit dem BAU Global Netzwerk, unterstützen wir den Gedanken der Völkerverständigung, das Ziel eines gemeinsamen Europas und das Zusammenleben mit Menschen und Nationen anderer Kulturkreise.

Interkulturelle Bildung betont die Einheit und gegenseitige Abhängigkeit der menschlichen Gesellschaft, die Entwicklung eines Selbstbewusstseins und die Wertschätzung kultureller Vielfalt, die Bekräftigung sozialer Gerechtigkeit und der Menschenrechte sowie inspirierende Aktionen für Frieden und Partnerschaft für eine nachhaltige Zukunft auf der ganzen Welt.

Internationaler Schüleraustausch erfüllt wichtige Aspekte unseres Bildungsauftrags. Er trägt ganz wesentlich zur Entwicklung junger Menschen in verschiedenen Bereichen bei wie z.B. der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung oder der Entwicklung interkultureller Kompetenz.

Die einzigartige Kooperation mit dem mit BAU Global Netzwerk ermöglicht Schüler*innen an unserem Gymnasium, im Ausland internationale Lehrerfahrungen zu machen, die sie auf ihre weiterführende Ausbildung in einer globalisierten Arbeitswelt vorbereitet. Dieser internationaler Austausch bietet Schüler*innen Freiräume, um eigene Ideen zu entwickeln und in die gesellschaftliche Debatte einzubringen. Oft wächst aus prägenden Auslandsaufenthalten während des Bildungsweges auch ein Engagement zugunsten der Allgemeinheit.

Lernerfahrungen durch grenzüberschreitende Mobilität schaffen demnach die Grundlage, damit sich heranwachsende Mädchen und Jungen in Europa und in der Welt bewegen können. Sie öffnen außerdem berufliche und persönliche Perspektiven. Mobilität ist damit Teil der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe und ein Grundrecht für alle jungen Menschen. Es wächst das Interesse an anderen Menschen im eigenen Umfeld und bereichert die internationale Vernetzung durch einen erweiterten Freundeskreis.

Nicht zuletzt werden durch eine weltoffene junge Generation mit einer hohen interkultureller Kompetenz und mit dem Verständnis anderer Lebensweisen, die Grundlagen für eine politische Stabilität und den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg unseres Landes in einer zunehmend globalisierten Welt gelegt.

Schulpartnerschaftsprojekt Fulbord Academy in Kanada

Bei uns können Schüler*innen in der Sekundarstufe I und in der Oberstufe während einer Studienfahrt an die Fulford Academy in Kanada, einer Partnerschule des BAU Global Netzwerkes, ihre Englisch- und interkulturellen Kenntnisse erweitern. Dabei kommen sie in Kontakt mit der landeseigenen Kultur und tauschen sich intensiv mit ihren ausländischen Mitschüler*innen aus, z. B. über deren tief empfundenen Wahrnehmungen, Überzeugungen und Werte die ihre Lebensweise beeinflussen und die Art, wie sie auf die Welt sehen.

Englisch

Der englischen Sprache kommt aufgrund ihrer Funktion als lingua franca, d.h. als internationaler Verkehrssprache in Wirtschaft, Kultur, Politik, für weiterführende Studien und internationale Wissenschaft wie auch für Verständigung und Friedensprojekte in der gesamten Welt eine sehr große Bedeutung zu.

Im Profilunterricht Englisch bereiten wir unsere Schüler*innen darauf vor und fördern durch vielfältige Arbeitsformen, Materialien und Methoden ihre Sprachfertigkeit.

Für den Zweig internationale Orientierung wird die Stundentafel durch diese Schwerpunkte ergänzt:

  • Schulpartnerschaftsprojekte in der 9. Klasse bzw. 12. Klasse  (Dauer: bis zu 2 Wochen)
  • Fächer- und Klassenübergreifende Projekttage – Schwerpunkte Englisch und interkulturelle Bildung
  • Zusätzliche Angebote auf Englisch im Rahmen des Ganztages
  • Studierzeit für das Fach Englisch