Education based on STEM and art aims to address problems with innovation, creative and critical thinking, cooperation and effective communication. So the visual arts are subjective, intuitive, unique and emotive, while the STEM areas are objective, repeatable, logical and analytical. Fine arts and natural sciences are therefore two areas of education that complement each other.

Nowadays it is not enough just to focus on STEM competencies or just art competencies. Schoolchildren * need to acquire more interdisciplinary skills (cross-disciplinarity of MINT with art, culture, humanities and social sciences) so that they better understand the connection between technical, social and aesthetic innovations.

STEM sub-area

As a land of ideas and one of the largest export nations in the world, Germany needs qualified young talent for research and development as well as future management positions. For this reason, technical courses in particular are promoted and heavily advertised at universities.

Mathematical, scientific and technical education is also an essential prerequisite for the active participation of each individual in social communication and forming opinions on technical development and scientific research. It helps to understand the modern world and its formative forces and effects and is therefore a fundamental component of contemporary general education (KMK).

In addition, it is an indispensable prerequisite for the further development and intensification of social opinion-forming processes, since the evaluation of developments and tendencies as well as ethical questions about the application and use of scientific knowledge requires relevant specialist knowledge.

By ensuring the necessary technical and methodological knowledge about interrelationships and ways of thinking in order to be able to orientate oneself better in the natural and technological world and thus support the promotion of appropriate talents and abilities, it also makes a contribution to better educational opportunities ( KMK).

Accordingly, the MINT subjects of mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology and computer science are an integral part of the curriculum for secondary level I and upper secondary level and are taught in more depth in the weekly project days and advanced courses. We attach great importance to a diverse range of natural sciences, including in interdisciplinary lessons, in our extracurricular activities and in the whole day.

Criteria for the MINT department include a wide-ranging and continuous choice of options in the interdisciplinary MINT project days, as well as didactic and methodical concepts to promote independent and experimental work, participation in competitions and international educational projects and cooperation with universities and companies, and much more

Section art

It is our goal to promote the creativity of the students and to enable them an aesthetic high school education in the sense of a holistic personality development. In addition to speaking and thinking about one's own artistic products and those of others, this also includes dealing with works from art history and current visual worlds.

At the Mentora Gymnasium we would like to combine the competence areas of the art class design, reflection and perception, ie the aesthetic and artistic competence of the students. In addition to imparting knowledge of the history of art and basic design skills, we want to encourage students in lower secondary and upper secondary school to try out artistic ways of thinking and acting individually.

Our high school enables creative work in the classic forms of expression painting and graphics, but also in other diverse teaching projects, e.g. B. in the areas of plastic, photography, film and design.

Partnership - Berlin International University of Applied Sciences

The Mentora Gymnasium is located in the same building as the Berlin International University of Applied Sciences in Berlin Charlottenburg. The spatial proximity, but also the partnership with the courses in architecture, product design, interior design and interior design as well as graphic design & visual communication, give the students of our high school the unique opportunity to have project-oriented learning experiences with students and lecturers from these fields of study.

 

Through this cooperation, specialist learning and specialist skills complement each other and they are enriched and deepened through other artistic perspectives.

MINT und Kunst begründete Bildung zielt darauf ab, Problemen mit Innovation, kreativem und kritischem Denken, Kooperation und effektiver Kommunikation zu begegnen. So sind die bildenden Künste subjektiv, intuitiv, einzigartig und gefühlsbezogen, während die MINT-Bereiche objektiv, wiederholbar, logisch und analytisch sind. Bildende Künste und Naturwissenschaften sind daher zwei Bildungsbereiche, die sich gegenseitig ergänzen.

Es reicht heutzutage nicht aus, nur MINT Kompetenzen oder nur Kunst Kompetenzen im Blick zu haben. Schüler*innen müssen verstärkt fächerübergreifende Kompetenzen erwerben (Crossdisziplinarität von MINT mit Kunst, Kultur, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften) damit sie den Zusammenhang von technischen, sozialen und ästhetischen Innovationen besser verstehen.

Teilbereich MINT

Deutschland als ein Land der Ideen und eine der größten Exportnationen der Welt, braucht qualifizierten Nachwuchs für Forschung und Entwicklung, sowie künftige Führungspositionen. Daher werden besonders technische Studiengänge an den Hochschulen gefördert und stark beworben.

Mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlich-technische Bildung ist auch eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für die aktive Teilhabe eines jeden Einzelnen an gesellschaftlicher Kommunikation und Meinungsbildung über technische Entwicklung und naturwissenschaftliche Forschung. Sie verhilft zum Verständnis der modernen Welt und ihrer prägenden Kräfte und Wirkungen und ist deshalb ein grundlegender Bestandteil zeitgemäßer Allgemeinbildung (KMK).

Zudem ist sie eine unverzichtbare Voraussetzung zur Weiterentwicklung und Intensivierung gesellschaftlicher Meinungsbildungsprozesse, da die Bewertung der Entwicklungen und Tendenzen sowie ethischer Fragen zur Anwendung und Nutzung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse einschlägige fachliche Kenntnisse erfordert.

Indem mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlich-technische Bildung notwendiges Sach- und Methodenwissen über Zusammenhänge und Denkweisen sicherstellt, um sich in der natürlichen und technisierten Welt besser orientieren zu können und so die Förderung von entsprechenden Talenten und Begabungen unterstützt, leistet sie auch einen Beitrag zu besseren Bildungschancen (KMK).

Die MINT-Fächer Mathematik, Physik, Chemie, Biologie und Informatik sind dementsprechend fester Bestandteil der Stundentafel der Sekundarstufe I und der Sekundarstufe II und werden in den wöchentlichen Projekttagen und Leistungskursen vertieft unterrichtet. Wir nehmen großen Wert auf ein vielfältiges naturwissenschaftliches Angebot auch im fächerübergreifenden Unterricht, in unseren außerschulischen Angeboten und im Ganztag.

Kriterien für den Fachbereich MINT u.a. ein breit gefächertes und kontinuierliches Wahlangebot in den fächerübergreifenden MINT- Projekttagen sowie didaktische und methodische Konzepte zur Förderung selbstständigen und experimentellen Arbeitens, Teilnahme an Wettbewerben sowie internationalen Bildungsprojekten und Kooperationen mit Hochschulen sowie Unternehmen u.v.m.

Teilbereich Kunst

Unser Ziel ist es, die Kreativität der Schüler*innen zu fördern und ihnen eine ästhetische gymnasiale Bildung im Sinne einer ganzheitlichen Persönlichkeitsentwicklung zu ermöglichen. Dazu gehört neben dem Sprechen bzw. Nachdenken über eigene und fremde künstlerische Erzeugnisse auch die Beschäftigung mit Werken der Kunstgeschichte und aktuellen visuellen Bildwelten.

Am Mentora Gymnasium möchten wir die Kompetenzbereiche des Kunstunterrichts Gestalten, Reflektieren und Wahrnehmen, d.h. die ästhetische und künstlerische Handlungskompetenz der Schüler*innen miteinander verbinden. Neben der Vermittlung kunstgeschichtlicher Kenntnisse sowie gestalterischer Grundfertigkeiten wollen wir Schüler*innen in der Sekundarstufe I und der gymnasialen Oberstufe zum individuellen Ausprobieren künstlerischer Denk- und Handlungsweisen ermuntern.

Unser Gymnasium ermöglicht das gestalterische Arbeiten in den klassischen Ausdrucksformen Malerei und Grafik aber auch in anderen vielseitige Unterrichtsvorhaben z. B. in den Bereichen Plastik, Fotografie, Film und Design.

Partnerschaft – Berlin International University of Applied Sciences

Das Mentora Gymnasium befindet sich im selben Gebäude wie die Berlin International University of Applied Sciences in Berlin Charlottenburg. Die räumliche Nähe aber auch die Partnerschaft mit den Studiengängen Arkitektur, Produktdesign, Innenarchitektur und Innenraumgestaltung sowie  Grafikdesign & Visuelle Kommunikation, eröffnen den Schüler*innen unseres Gymnasiums die einzigartige Chance projektorientierte Lernerfahrungen mit Studenten und Dozenten dieser Studienrichtungen zu machen.

 

Durch diese Kooperation ergänzen sich fachliches Lernen und fachliche Kompetenzen und sie werden durch andere künstlerische Perspektiven angereichert und vertieft.